Prospective observational study on the clinical efficacy of lipid-apheresis in patients with elevated lipoprotein(a)

Pro(a)-LiFe¹

Lipoprotein(a) is recognized as independent and causal risk factor for cardiovascular disease and cardiovascular complications. The prospective multicenter observational study Pro(a)-Life was initiated by the Apheresis Research Institute. After sample size calculation 170 patients were enrolled from 28 treatment centers throughout Germany. They started with chronic lipid apheresis therapy after approval by the apheresis committee of the regional association of statutory health insurance physicians, or directly by the individual statutory or private health insurance fund according to German reimbursement guidelines. The aim of Pro(a)-Life was to assess the efficacy of lipid-apheresis in high-risk patients with elevated Lp(a) >60 mg/dl and a progressive cardiovascular disease by analysis of the event rates MACE (Major Adverse Coronary Events) and ACVE (Adverse Cardiac or Vascular Events).

The Pro(a)-Life study demonstrated the clinical efficacy of lipid-apheresis with isolated elevated Lp(a) and progressive vascular disease (Leebmann 2013). The impressive 2-year data have already been published in the high-ranked cardiology journal Circulation. Analysis of 5-year data has been completed recently and will be published soon. The mean age of patients at the first cardiovascular event (85% cardiac) was 51 years and 57 years at time of first lipid-apheresis treatment. The reduction rates for Lp(a) and LDL cholesterol were on average at 60-70% per lipid-apheresis treatment. The average lipoprotein(a) levels before commencing chronic lipid apheresis were at 105 mg/dl. The LDL cholesterol levels were on average 99 mg/dl.

The risk of cardiovascular complications was significantly reduced in all patients. The average rate of cardiovascular events (MACE per year) decreased by 78% from 0.41 in the two years prior to apheresis to 0.09 in the first two years under chronic apheresis treatment (p<0.0001). The event rate in all vessel regions (ACVE per year) decreased by 76% from 0.58 to 0.14 (p <0.0001). The number of cerebrovascular events, largely strokes, was reduced by 80%. The number of peripheral vascular events, mainly bypasses and stents of the lower extremities, was reduced by 63%.


¹Pro(a)-Life - Prospective documentation of isolated lipoprotein(a) elevation with progressive cardiovascular disease and lipoprotein apheresis for effective treatment of hyperlipoproteinemia

For more information on Pro(a)-Life study please feel free to contact the Apheresis Research Institute.



Further reading

  • Leebmann J, Roeseler E, Julius U et al. Lipoprotein apheresis in patients with maximally tolerated lipid-lowering therapy, lipoprotein(a)-hyperlipoproteinemia, and progressive cardiovascular disease - Prospective observational multicenter study. Circulation (2013) 128: 2567-2576. Abstract
  • Roeseler E, Julius U, Heigl F et al. Lipoprotein apheresis for Lipoprotein(a)-associated cardiovascular disease: Prospective 5 years of follow-up and apolipoprotein(a) characterization. Arteriosclerosis, Thrombosis, and Vascular Biology (2016) 36: 2019-2027. Abstract

Prospektive Beobachtungsstudie zur klinischen Wirksamkeit der Lipid-Apherese bei erhöhtem Lipoprotein(a)

Pro(a)-LiFe¹

Lipoprotein(a) ist ein anerkannter unabhängiger Risikofaktor atherothrombotischer Erkrankungen und kardiovaskulärer Komplikationen. In der durch das Apherese ForschungsInstitut initiierten prospektiven multizentrischen Beobachtungsstudie Pro(a)-LiFe wurden nach Fallzahlkalkulation 170 Patienten aus deutschlandweit 28 Zentren eingeschlossen, die nach Genehmigung durch die regionale KV-Kommission mit der chronischen Lipid-Apherese begannen. Ziel von Pro(a)-Life war der Nachweis der Wirksamkeit der Lipid-Apherese bei Hochrisikopatienten mit erhöhtem Lp(a) >60 mg/dl und einer progredient fortschreitenden kardiovaskulären Erkrankung anhand der Ereignisraten MACE (Major Adverse Coronary Events) und ACVE (Adverse Cardiac or Vascular Events).

Die Pro(a)-LiFe-Studie belegt die klinische Wirksamkeit der Lipid-Apherese bei isolierter Lp(a)-Erhöhung mit progredienter Gefäßerkrankung (Leebmann 2013). Die beeindruckenden 2-Jahresdaten wurden in der renommierten kardiologischen Fachzeitschrift Circulation veröffentlicht. Die Analyse der 5-Jahresdaten (Pro(a)-LiFe Follow-up), veröffentlicht in Arteriosclerosis, Thrombosis, and Vascular Biology (ATVB), zeigt eindrucksvoll die nachhaltige Wirksamkeit der Lipid-Apherese zur Prävention kardiovaskulärer Ereignisse (Roeseler 2016). Das mittlere Alter der Patienten beim ersten kardiovaskulären Ereignis (bei 85% kardial) lag bei 51 Jahren und 57 Jahren bei der ersten Lipid-Apherese. Die Absenkraten für Lp(a) und LDL-Cholesterin lagen im Mittel bei 60-70% pro Lipid-Apherese. Der mittlere Lipoprotein(a)-Spiegel lag vor Beginn der chronischen Lipid-Apherese bei 105 mg/dl. Die LDL-Cholesterin-Werte lagen im Mittel bei 99 mg/dl.

Das Risiko kardiovaskulärer Komplikationen wurde bei allen Patienten signifikant gesenkt. So sank die mittlere Rate kardiovaskulärer Ereignisse (MACE pro Jahr) um 78% von 0,41 in den zwei Jahren vor Apherese auf 0,09 in den ersten zwei Jahren unter Apherese (p<0,0001). Die Ereignisrate in allen Gefäßregionen (ACVE pro Jahr) sank um 76% von 0,58 auf 0,14 (p<0,0001). Die Zahl zerebrovaskulärer Ereignisse, zum Großteil Schlaganfälle, wurde um 80% gesenkt. Die Zahl periphervaskulärer Ereignisse, vor allem Bypässe und Stents der unteren Extremitäten, wurde um 63 % reduziert.


¹Pro(a)-LiFe - Prospektive Dokumentation der isolierten Lipoprotein(a)-Erhöhung mit progredienter Gefäßerkrankung und Lipid-Apherese zur Behandlung der Fettstoffwechselstörung

Für weitere Informationen zur Pro(a)-LiFe-Studie wenden Sie sich gerne an das Apherese ForschungsInstitut.



Weiterführende Literatur

  • Leebmann J, Roeseler E, Julius U et al. Lipoprotein apheresis in patients with maximally tolerated lipid-lowering therapy, lipoprotein(a)-hyperlipoproteinemia, and progressive cardiovascular disease - Prospective observational multicenter study. Circulation (2013) 128: 2567-2576. Abstract
  • Roeseler E, Julius U, Heigl F et al. Lipoprotein apheresis for Lipoprotein(a)-associated cardiovascular disease: Prospective 5 years of follow-up and apolipoprotein(a) characterization. Arteriosclerosis, Thrombosis, and Vascular Biology (2016) 36: 2019-2027. Abstract

Bitte beachten:

Die auf diesen Webseiten des Apherese ForschungsInstituts dargestellten Informationen zu Therapiekonzepten, Therapieverfahren und Krankheitsbildern sind ausschließlich zur Nutzung durch medizinische Fachkreise bestimmt.

Wenn Sie kein Angehöriger dieser Fachkreise sind, könnte der auf diesen Webseiten dargestellte Inhalt für Sie unverständlich sein.

Durch Klicken auf die Schaltfläche „Zur Kenntnis genommen und akzeptiert“ bestätigen Sie, dass Sie diese Mitteilung zur Kenntnis genommen haben und diese ausschließlich für medizinische Fachkreise bestimmten Informationen lesen möchten. Sollten Sie nicht zustimmen, klicken Sie bitte auf „Zurück zur Homepage“.